Beet Pasta Dough

Anyone that knows me and my husband, knows that we are crazy about beets. In fact there are serious problems if I make any kind of chicken dish without a side of cikla (croatian for beets, and basically prepared by tossing boiled and peeled beets with olive oil, vinegar, and salt). So when I was wanting a little diversity in my pasta, I thought, “why not beet pasta?” I already love to make spinach pasta, so why not? Low and behold I found this great recipe, courtesy of Martha Stewart (who I’m not a huge fan of personality wise, but who else was blown away by those modeling photos from the ’60s!). I, myself, don’t have any special pasta maker, but found this great resource for shaping it by hand, the old fashioned way.

  • 8 to 12 ounces red beets
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • Coarse salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
Boil beets in water until a knife easily pierces through. Drain them from the pot and place in a food processor to puree.  Next add eggs and yolk to puree in food processor, and process until combined. Add flour and 1 heaping teaspoon salt, and process until dough just comes together, about 20 seconds.
Transfer dough to a well-floured surface. Knead until smooth and elastic, between 5 to 10 minutes, adding up to flour if dough is sticky. Martha’s recipe calls for up to only 2 tablespoons of flour, but I used A LOT more, since I used more like 12 ozs of beets for the puree. Place on a piece of parchment and cover with an inverted bowl, or wrap tightly in plastic; let rest for 1 to 2 hours.
Working with small, manageable pieces of the dough, roll it out very thin. At this point you can cut them into whatever shape you want – linguini, bow ties, etc. Lay on a board to dry a little before cooking. I usually place mine in the freezer this way so that they freeze as seperate shapes and not one big unmanageable blob of pasta. Once frozen I place them into ziplock bags (uncooked) for a quick dinner or lunch at a later date (usually Mondays when I’m too exhausted to cook!)
Leave a Reply

