Pasta in a Garlic & Sun-dried Tomato Creamy Sauce

When I lived in Jersey City, my go-to-place for dinner when I didn’t really feel like cooking (I know, shocking right! It happens) or brunch on the weekends was Beechwood Cafe on Grove. My husband would almost always get their “hay and straw pasta,” so I decided to make my own version with ingredients that I pretty much always keep in my fridge. This is a super simple and fast recipe, perfect for those nights when you really don’t feel like cooking, but must!

  • olive oil
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ cup sundried tomatoes (i prefer the ones stored in oil), sliced
  • 2 cups pureed (from a can) or fresh,chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tsp granulated sugar
  • ½ cup plain Greek yogurt
  • ¼ cup sour cream
  • 1 lb chicken breast, chopped (optional)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Grated cheese, such as Parmesan (sometimes I even use Comte or whatever semi-hard cheese I happen to have in the fridge)

Prepare the pasta according to the package.

In a small bowl, combine the yogurt and sour cream. Set aside.

Next add a few tablespoons of olive oil to a pan over medium heat. Add the chicken and brown. Remove with a slotted spoon to a plate and set aside.

Next, add the garlic and cook until it starts to brown (slightly!) and then add the sun-dried tomatoes. Sauté for a few minutes then reduce the heat to low. Add the tomatoes and sugar. Next whisk in the yogurt/sour cream mixture. When thoroughly combined, add the chicken, as well as salt and pepper to taste. Simmer for about ten minutes, or until slightly thickened.

Drain pasta and add to a large bowl. Toss with the sauce. Serve with grated cheese, if desired. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

