Karfiol s kiselim vrhnjem (Baked Cauliflower with Sour Cream)

When cauliflower pops up around this time at my local farmers market, I’ve always happily snatched up a few heads in delight…..particularly if I can get my hands on the purple variety. Yet, honestly I don’t really know why. Sure its super nutritious (high in fiber, potassium,  and vitamin C, among other things), but I never particularly enjoyed the taste. I mean, it doesn’t taste bad, just….uninspiring or even boring? Even with sprinkled with spices like Vegeta (the way I had it as a kid) or garlic. And precisely because if you took away those seasonings, it would just be pretty tasteless. But because its so pretty, I think I just liked the idea of liking it more than actually doing so. But anyways, that was before my husband asked me to make karfiol s kiselim vrhnjem (or cauliflower with sour cream), a dish his mom made him as a kid. Karfiol s kiselim vrhnjem is a delicious Croatian side dish that’s super easy to make and great because its so hands off that you can easily multitask and work on other parts of the meal while its baking. You can substitute the butter with something like Earth Balance and use non-fat sour cream, but the proportions are so little that I honestly never do–particularly if the rest of the meal is vegetarian. I mean, you do need a little fat in your diet. Everything in moderation. 🙂

  • 1 cauliflower
  • 2-3 tbsp of butter
  • a few tablespoons of sour cream
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • salt
  • pepper
  • bread crumbs (preferably homemade, or panko works well)

Cut the cauliflower up into florets and steam in a large pot, making sure not to overcook.

Meanwhile preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Next arrange the cauliflower in an oven-proof pan (I usually use my pie pan) and pour the rest of the ingredients on top, ending with the bread crumbs. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

