Red Currant Smoothie

red currant yogurt smoothieOne thing I love to eat during the summer in Europe is ribiz, or red currant, a fruit I’ve never seen fresh in the States and have thus been relegated to its jam form.  But now that I’m living here in Zagreb…and it’s summer…you can imagine how happy I was to find this amazing recipe for red currant lassi on one of my favorite food blogs, Food with a View.  With licorice herb, there’s is a super German version (I imagine only a marzipan flavoring to be more German than licorice…..hmmm, maybe a tiny bit wouldn’t be a bad idea. Did I ever mention how much I love Germany!), but alas I’ve omitted it because licorice flavor is really not my thing. Instead this recipe concentrates on the delicious pairing of currant and honey. Simple and delicious. You can drink this as a smoothie or eat it with muesli/granola (as my husband does).

  • 1/2 cup of red currants (you can add these in batches to see how strong you prefer the flavor to be)
  • 300 g of plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup of ice water
  • 1 tablespoon of honey (from linden)

Blend everything together.  Taste and add a little more fruit or honey according to your preference.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

