Cabbage, corn + white bean tartine

Usually when I make tartines or open-faced sandwiches, I make cabbage and beans on toasted rye (or whatever kind of bread I have on hand.) In fact, this recipe came about after I was in the middle of making just that and realized that I had used up the last can of white beans for a chickpea and white bean dip the day before. Since I had so much of the dip leftover, I thought it would be perfect for a tartine, plus add much needed protein to the dish.

Note: I don’t usually like corn out of a jar (fresh and seasonal is best!), but the bio one from my local Delhaize here in Brussels is actually pretty good, so I usually use that since this dish is meant to be a quick meal. If using frozen (which is much better than canned or jarred in terms of retaining flavour and nutrients), I would steam it in separate pan–making sure not to overcook it–and drain any excess water before adding it to the cabbage. Sautéing it on the stove to the point it is almost blackening would be ideal in this case.

  • 2 cups of cabbage, shredded
  • 1 cup or about 200 grams of corn
  • 1 onion
  • olive oil
  • salt + pepper
  • chickpea and white bean dip (see recipe)
  • good bread like a pain de campagne

In a large pan, put a few slices of bread in a little oil and toast each side. Set aside.

In that same pan, add a little more oil and caramelize the onions over medium heat. Next add the cabbage and a generous amount of salt and pepper (I usually start with 5 or 6 turns cranks of my pepper mill, mix the cabbage, and add another 5 or 6 cranks.)  Cook, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes or until the cabbage has wilted and is almost browning. Then add the corn and continue cooking for an additional 5 minutes or so. Taste and adjust the salt and pepper, as needed.

To serve, add a layer of the chickpea and white bean dip to the bread, then top with the cabbage and corn mixture.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

