Mache Salad w/ Cranberries, Pears, + Walnuts

A few days ago, I realized that eating more salads should have been one of my new years resolutions this year–if only because of how difficult it is to get myself to do it. Growing up, salad for me never included lettuce. It was cabbage salad or  beet salad or simply what I call on my blog summer salad, since we eat it almost every day during the summer when tomatoes are at their ripest and best. But now that I’m living here in Belgium, where greenhouses allow wonderful mâches and other lettuces to be grown locally year-round, I’ve decided that I need to take advantage. So voila. Breaking out of my usual oil + vinegar routine, this is my take on a dijon mustard vinaigrette. Instead of the usual red or white wine vinegar, I use apple-cider since it has wonderful health benefits and is, frankly, always in my pantry.

  • 1 tablespoon of Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon of apple-cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup of extra-virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • mâche or similar lettuce
  • 1 pear, chopped
  • walnuts
  • cranberries

Mix the first four ingredients together in  a little screw jar, shaking the closed(! lol) jar to easily combine. Taste and adjust according to your tastes.

Combine all of the ingredients, only using as much dressing as is necessary. You will have extra dressing, which will keep for a few days in the fridge.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

