Rhubarb-Apple Tarte

I hate food waste (though I’m plenty guilty of it,) so right before I go away for a longer trip I usually try to use up all the perishables in my fridge. This time, I was surprised to find rhubarb, something I had bought specifically to use in my rhubarb-blueberry crumble recipe, but never got around to doing. Since it was still good and I had some apples and store-bought pâte feuilletée as well, I thought why not make a tarte for breakfast! Usually I think rhubarb and strawberries or rhubarb and pears, but why not rhubarb and apple. Sure, granny smith are more on the tart side, so doesn’t do much in the way of balancing the rhubarb, but thats what the sugar is for. Nobody said this was a “healthy” dish, just delicious. 🙂 You can easily substitute the dough with a pâte brisée (see my recipe here) if you prefer a harder crust.

  • pâte feuilletée or puff pastry (ready-made and found in many supermarkets)
  • 1 granny smith apple, sliced thin
  • 1 stalk of rhubarb, sliced thin lengthwise
  • butter, melted
  • sugar
  • powdered ginger

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

Place the dough onto a cookie sheet lined in parchment paper and then brush with butter.

Slice the apples (I leave the skin on when I buy them from local farms that don’t use harmful pesticides, but I would first peel any that come from the supermarket) and arrange flat across the dough, but leaving a bit of a dough border. Next basketweave the rhubarb strips on top of the apples. Sprinkle with a bunch of sugar (maybe 3 tablespoons) and ginger, then drizzle all over with the melted butter. Next, fold the edges of the dough slightly over the fruit. Brush with the additional melted butter, then bake in the oven until it is nicely browned. Make sure to check on the galette every 15 or so minutes to make sure that it is evenly cooking. You may have to rotate it depending on how your oven is.

Remove and let cool slightly.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

